whole30 day 1

Breakfast: 2 sausage links and a smoothie (1/2 cup coconut milk, 1/2 cup apple juice, an apple and a carrot, nutmeg and cinnamon, and a spoonful of coconut oil). I have to admit, the smoothie was pretty awful. The taste wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t smooth at all. I was chewing apple and carrot pulp with every sip I took. I probably should’ve added a banana to help that a little bit… Win some, lose some!

Snack: (10am) A hard boiled egg

Lunch: Cherry tomatoes, cucumber, 1/2 an avocado, and a drained tin of tuna on a bed of romaine. Made a dressing from extra virgin olive oil, apple cider vinegar, lemon juice, and salt and pepper too. Followed that by a few pecans, a small plum, and a cup of black coffee.

Snack: (4:30pm) a banana

Pre-workout snack: (6:05pm) a hard boiled egg


Workout: Did this fifteen minute workout with Mikayla and Vicki today! Felt good to be moving, but I am definitely going to feel it tomorrow… We replaced all the crunches with wall sits, and the second set of squats with what I like to call “baby steps” (getting into squat positioning and taking little steps forward while bouncing your bum a bit).

Dinner: (9pm) A delicious pork stew (recipe here). I found this recipe on Pinterest and decided to try it. I had to make a lot of minor changes though: 500 grams pork rather than 600, 600 ml. of chicken broth rather than 500, I replaced the rutabaga and squash with sweet potato and kabocha, I replaced the lime with a lemon, and didn’t use any arrowroot. The stew has lovely color and is very fragrant. It has a very autumnal flavor, and I was really impressed with it. Honestly, it is one of the best tasting things I have ever made!

Comments: I just broke one of the rules of Whole30 by eating so late. The rule is not to eat so close to bedtime. But I just couldn’t get dinner on the table any earlier, so oh well! Now it is 11:45pm, and I have just finished prepping a steak and grilled vegetables for a salad tomorrow as well as frozen bananas for a smoothie. I think I definitely jumped into this with too little food and things prepped, but hopefully I can get into a groove of overcooking and planning on having leftovers to stave off the hunger pangs!

Leave a Reply

