whole30 reset button

Since I have decided wholeheartedly that I need an extreme change, I am going to do the Whole30 Challenge. I feel like diets like these are really no problem to do in America because of their popularity there, but I have no idea how it will go here in Japan. Japan is in love with rice, bread, sugar, booze, and soy, all things on the Whole30 no-no list. Doing this is really going to test my self-discipline and my resolve to say “no thank you” to the people around me and the situations I will find myself in that aren’t Whole30 friendly. According to the strict Whole30 rules, any slip-up, no matter how small or trivial, means starting back at day one. Here’s hoping I don’t have too many of those set-backs…..

Whole30 Commitment:

  • Pick a start date
  • Go public
  • Clean out the fridge and pantry
  • Plan out meals
  • Go shopping
  • Prep ahead as much as possible
  • Prep “emergency food kits”
  • Take before pictures and measurements
  • Ditch the scale

whole30 info

Yes Foods:

  • Meat
  • Seafood
  • Eggs
  • LOTS of vegetables
  • Fruit
  • Good fats (oils, nuts, seeds)

No Foods:

  • Added sugar (real or artificial)
  • Alcohol & tabacco
  • Grains
  • Legumes
  • Dairy
  • Carageenan, MSG, or sulfites

Okay Foods:

  • Clarified butter (ghee)
  • Fruit juice as a sweetener
  • Vinegar
  • Salt
  • Certain legumes (green beans, sugar snap peas, snow peas)

The Balanced Plate:

  • Protein = 1-2 palm sized portions
  • Fruit = handful
  • Oils & fats = 1-2 tablespoons
  • Vegetables = 2/3 of the plate

Tips:

  • Make each meal large enough to satisfy until the next.
  • Don’t snack if you can help it.
  • Stop eating a few hours before bed.
  • Remember to be mindful, both while cooking and while enjoying your meals.

Helpful Links:

For those of you reading, wherever you are, wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “whole30 reset button

Leave a Reply

