whole30 day 4 + my confession reflection

Breakfast: Same as it’s been with a couple variations again. This time I fried up red peppers, green peppers, garlic, zucchini, 3 sausage links, and some spinach, scrambled one egg into it, and topped it with salsa and half an avocado. I also had one of those yummy coconut coffees.

Lunch: My protein was a tin of tuna, and my fat was… homemade mayo I whipped up last night!! Making mayo was really easy but also really time consuming, but the process is really cool. And it tastes pretty good too! (Recipe here.) I dipped red pepper slices and cucumber sticks into the tuna. I also had a spinach salad with a small tomato, quarter avocado, and lemon balsamic vinaigrette too, along with half an apple. I only ended up eating half of the spinach salad. Today I learned that eating raw spinach is just too much like eating grass to me, I suppose. I just wasn’t feeling it.

Snack: I apparently didn’t pack enough lunch, so around 5pm I got some hunger pangs. I know smoothies aren’t recommended, but I decided to whip up a smooth with a frozen banana, the last of the open can of the questionable coconut milk in my fridge, a half cup of coffee, and some cinnamon. You guys, this tasted absolutely sinful. And now I know that I should not make that beautiful concoction again while on Whole 30… It is just too damn good. ::sigh:: And I already feel guilty for it!

Workout: Did one and quarter mile nice and easy with Vicki and Mikayla this evening. Both Vicki and I were insanely sore from AbRipper the other night, so I am really proud of us for moving our butts tonight! Before the jog I had a hardboiled egg, and afterward I had another egg as well as a couple steamed baby potatoes.

Dinner: Evan received a bunch of small plums which were quickly getting too ripe, so I made some plum sauce using this recipe. I omitted the soy sauce and sugar completely, so the sauce turned out yummy but a bit on the tart side. I used it to top some simple salt and pepper pork chops and made a zucchini, onion, and sweet potato stir fry on the side.

Comments: Now maybe it is all in my head, but I feel as though waking up wasn’t as difficult this morning. Also, since I woke up my head has felt very clear, not hazy and sleepy like it normally does for the first few hours of my morning. This is despite getting only about 6 hours of sleep every night this week (yup, I know, tack that onto my growing list of things I need to improve on). Could it be a side effect of my new diet? I am guessing so, but obviously can’t be sure. Let’s just see if it keeps up.

Confession Reflection: So, even though I finished off the open coconut milk in the fridge in my coffee smoothie earlier, I still have two or three more cans in my cupboard. I haven’t checked their ingredient labels yet, but after looking online at other people’s stories on blogs and in Whole 30 forums, I have decided to drop the coconut milk if it is indeed noncompliant. I mean, if I’m already at the eight yard mark, why not go the full nine? The more I think about it, the sillier it seems for me to follow all the Whole 30 rules but that one.

Leave a Reply

