whole30 day 8

Hooray! Officially one week of the Whole30 is finished! I am feeling really good about my commitment level, so although I am not exactly looking forward to the next three weeks, I am feeling confident I can get through them!

Breakfast: Stir fried zucchini, red pepper, and mushroom with a fried egg and two slices of bacon followed by a coconut cream/oil coffee (admittedly a bit heavy of the cream part).

Lunch: Three meatballs, chunky marinara sauce, and a small green salad with red peppers, cucumbers, and lemon balsamic vinaigrette. I followed that up with half an apple.

Snack: Okay, so remember that really sinful frozen banana, coconut cream, and coffee drink I made before and told myself I wouldn’t have again? Yeahhhh. Well my stomach started growling at around 5:30 and I made another one and thoroughly enjoyed it. This is a very real, new temptation that I have to resist right now. I feel I should be able to have these frozen banana lattes because technically all the ingredients are Whole 30 compliant, so it is harder for me to tell myself no…

Workout: Decided to make today arm day, so Vicki and I jogged .6 miles to a nearby park then did 2 sets of the following reps -> 40 small arm circles forward, 10 tricep dips on a bench, 40 small circles backward, and 10 push-ups. Also, on the first set I managed to do a ten second flex arm hang, and a 20 second flex arm hang in the second set. Afterward we jogged the .6 miles back home. I think that maybe I could have pushed myself a little bit harder and put in one more arm set, but we decided to ease into it to avoid major sore muscles tomorrow!

Post-Workout Meal: A fried egg, two slices of nama ham (pretty much prosciutto), a small sliced tomato, and half an apple.

Dinner: Evan and I decided to go out to dinner, so we went to a rather large and popular restaurant called Yagura nearby. We have been there one time before more than a year ago, but we couldn’t remember it very well. I was able to find a raw veggie appetizer platter with lots of various veg on it (thankfully the dressing was served as a dip on the side). I also had two meat sticks (one chicken and one pork) and a small plate of varied sashimi. Overall it was a pretty tasty meal. Watching Evan eat sushi with the rice, dip the veggies in the creamy dairy dressing, and devour a set of gyoza to himself wasn’t exactly easy, but I managed it, and I managed to eat a full meal in the meantime too, so I’m pretty proud of myself.

Comments: The reason why Evan and I decided to go out for dinner is because I hit a pretty big wall on the whole cooking-every-damn-day front. Not to mention the oh-my-god-this-mountain-of-dishes-never-diminishes-no-matter-how-many-loads-I-do front. After college I told myself I’d never live in another home without a dishwasher, yet here I am… Basically I have REALLY got to plan out my meals better, cook more in one go, freeze things, and have backup plans, because cooking every night and being oppressed by dirty dishes is not exactly pleasant.

Also, I am sorry for the lack of pictures! For some reason I have been totally forgetting to take snaps before eating! I will try to be better about that from now on toooooo.

Leave a Reply

