whole30 day 21

Breakfast: Leftover chili and meatballs topped with a fried egg and a coconut coffee.

After breakfast Evan and I headed to Fukuoka city to take the JLPT. I really struggled on the vocabulary and kanji sections right at the beginning, but ended up feeling really great about the grammar, reading comprehension, and listening.

The last time I took the N4 more than a year ago I felt as though it went totally over my head. The listening section was way too fast and I could hardly make out any of the answers. I didn’t have enough time to even finish the reading part, and what I could read I barely made heads or tails of.

This time I felt like everything was so much smoother and made so much more sense! And time was never an issue. Even during the reading section I had more than enough time to go back and check over my answers too. Doing this test and the mock tests yesterday really helped show me how much more time and effort I need to devote to kanji and vocabulary though, because those really are the big gaps in my Japanese abilities. I am hoping this’ll start a fire under my ass and inspire me to keep pushing myself to study. The results of the JLPT will be given to us in late August or early September. Pass or fail, I’ve got to get my language-learning ass in gear!

Snack / Lunch: Small handful of nuts, a couple of apple slices, and a hardboiled egg during exam breaks.

Dinner: After the test let out the city was crawling with about 1,000 foreigners are looking for a way home and swarming the buses and trains, so Evan and I ducked into the first restaurant we saw near the test site. It was a small Chinese restaurant with loads of choices, so I got the Qi Jiao Ros, or beef and peppers – the same dish from the first episode of Cowboy Bebop! That was really the only reason why I picked it, but it ended up being pretty good.

The train ride home from the city was especially beautiful tonight. The clouds were full and grey in some spots, but where the sun broke through it was so lovely, especially seeing its reflection on the rice fields. Looking out the window was a really nice way to unwind after spending hours in a white box anxiously testing.

Dessert:  After we got home I decided I really wanted to treat myself, so I made myself something sweet. I combined three sliced frozen bananas, 3/4 cup coconut cream, a teaspoon vanilla bean extract, and a tablespoon of cocoa powder. Blend it all up, top it with some nuts, and boom – pure deliciousness! This was my reward for doing the JLPT. I only ate half of it and put the other half in a container to freeze and have tomorrow. My hope is that after it’s frozen it’ll remind me of ice cream!

Well, now I am going to vegetate on the couch with my boo Evan and some Netflix and call it a day!

2 thoughts on “whole30 day 21

  1. I’m glad the test felt smoother this time around–progress! Also, your food blog makes me so hungry! Good job on the whole 30! You are doing a fabulous job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, babe! I am anxious to get my text scores back late next month. And really relieved that today is my last day on this diet officially!

      Like

Leave a Reply

