whole30 day 25 (late)

Breakfast: Sausage, fried egg, salsa, potato, cherry tomatoes, avocado, and cucumber.

Lunch: Sliced steak on salad greens and cucumber topped with salsa. Olives, nuts, Gouda cheese (!!!) on the side. Yes, this makes a helping of cheese two days in a row! Despite the mysterious congestion last night. I had no such strong reaction to it this time though…

Dinner: Tonight I made something new and different. I decided to try this sauteed cabbage and chicken recipe that I found on Pinterest and it turned out really good! The long simmer time really brings out the flavor of the paprika and the chicken thighs, but the crunchiness of the cabbage and carrots is still preserved for lovely texture. Since the mainstay of that dish is cabbage, I decided to pair it with some portugese linguica sausage I found at the specialty grocery store yesterday. This sausage was a little pricey, but it tasted amazing! I pan fried it in olive oil until the skin was just bursting. It was juicy and had a lovely garlic flavor that went so well with the paprika. Lastly I added a small side of uri (Japanese groud) and red onion pickles that I made the other day. The pickle brine is made of rice vinegar, a spoonful of honey, dried red pepper, and salt. The cold, mildy spicy, sweet-sour crunch of the pickles against the hot cabbage and sausage really tied it all together. Dinner was, in a word, delightful.

Comments: I wound my day down with some American Horror Story, Sons of Anarchy, and sewing patches on my backpacking bag. It was pretty relaxing. I probably should have worked out at least a little bit, and maybe not eaten that cheese, but… Whatever.

Leave a Reply

